Survival.

There is nothing funny about cancer.

I thought starting a blog with humor would help lighten the overwhelming heavy weight this dreadful disease inflicts upon the body and mind.

I must have been kidding myself.

After a while it dawned on me.

I was not laughing at anything that happened during the course of cancer, nor was I laughing reading about it.

If anything, it brought back memories I’d rather have forgotten.

So then I came to the wise conclusion: the heck with blogging.

I don’t care how funny some incidents may appear, I am done with it.

No longer want to think about it or relive the past year.

Emotional scars left behind .

Not funny.

Huge bills from hospital and doctors.

Really not very funny.

Clothing not fitting the way they use to.

Not at all funny.

Too tired to get out the bed most days.

Not even close to being funny.

But just when I was ready to throw in the towel, I received an email from a fellow blogger named Ashley about how my positive post helped her .

After reading her posts, I was touched by her raw emotions and how, after waiting 2 years, she mustered the courage to finally start a blog in hopes of helping others.

I was touched by this young woman’s outreach and honesty.

She helped me to realize that sharing can be healing.

And so I promised her to dedicate the next blog to her.

Cheers to all my fellow bloggers for a positive, successful, and healthy New Year .

15 thoughts on “Survival.

  1. lizetish January 3, 2017 / 6:49 pm

    Glad you will continue to blog. Cancer is not funny, but courageous people are inspiring. And you, my friend, are one of the most courageous women I have ever met. Wishing you many blessings and joys in the coming year.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Tink the Belle January 3, 2017 / 6:55 pm

      Thank you. As a certain compassionate child of mine just reminded me, I need to keep writing as a hobby, otherwise I’ll be back to just the one hobby- alternating between laying in bed and wandering around the house. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. juliakaylin January 3, 2017 / 6:57 pm

    Hey!
    I enjoyed reading your post! I look foward to reading more of your posts! Good luck and happy new year!

    Like

  3. Ancient Skies January 3, 2017 / 8:15 pm

    You are having a positive impact. And I understand having these emotions, I was the the caregiver for my wife for a number of years. We both suffered in a number of different ways, and of course our two small children at the time, did too. Looking back is often unpleasant. Now I at least try to look forward and I attempt to make some beauty with words and photos, to hopefully brighten someone’s day. Wishing you peace and good health, Nico.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Doctor Jonathan January 7, 2017 / 3:44 pm

    I’m so glad you discovered a POSITIVE reason for blogging. Your experiences will add great value to many lives lost and searching for answers. As a doctor I can explain the “technical” jargon, but I can’t offer the same type of empathy or understanding that you can. Experience plays an important role that education (by itself) is missing.

    Thank you for your honesty and your willingness to share your personal feelings. They MATTER!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Doctor Jonathan January 9, 2017 / 11:43 pm

        I am certain your words will influence and affect other lives in various ways. You have much to offer and will likely meet people blogging that will impact your life as well.

        Like

  5. Phil Taylor January 22, 2017 / 6:23 am

    I totally understand this post. A little over a year ago my wife was diagnosed with cancer for the second time I thought that in an effort to cheer up myself and others I’d try to write some funny posts about cancer treatment. I didn’t have it in me. I find funny in just about everything, but it wasn’t in me to laugh at anything to do with cancer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tink the Belle January 22, 2017 / 6:28 am

      Sharing is the road to healing. Friends, family and prayers are the foundation of this journey. And I am lucky to have a great oncologist, his positive and calm outlook helped in the whole process. Cancer is a phase, it shall pass.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

